top of page

What is Borderline Personality Disorder (BPD)?

Borderline Personality Disorder (BPD), which is also referred to as Emotionally Unstable Personality Disorder (EUPD), is a personality disorder that can be diagnosed when an individual experiences at least five out of nine of the following symptoms or criteria;

  1. Fear of abandonment

  2. Unstable relationships

  3. Unstable self-image

  4. Impulsive or self-destructive behaviour

  5. Suicidal ideation, behaviour or self-harm

  6. Extreme mood swings

  7. Feelings of emptiness

  8. Intense anger or short temperedness

  9. Paranoia, suspiciousness or dissociation


Throughout this blog I will cover the nine symptoms of BPD as well as document my own personal experience of living with this disorder - from how I got my diagnosis and how it has impacted my life to how I try to manage my episodes and protect myself and others around me. I will also share other tidbits of information and the occasional meme.


I will use the acronym BPD as that is my preferred term and the one I am most familiar with. There will be times where I mention suicide, self-harm and other sensitive topics but I will add a trigger warning (*TW) to the subject line.


Whether you are someone who thinks they may have BPD, someone with a BPD diagnosis, are a person who knows someone with BPD or are just curious, I hope you can take something useful from my posts.


Tanya x

0 comments
bottom of page